Bon Iver’s Babys: Megafaun & S. Carey

Before there was Bon Iver, there was Justin DeYarmond Edison Vernon:

Justin Vernon

Justin Vernon: Before Bon Iver

Justin Vernon was once in a band called DeYarmond Edison.

Justin Vernon + Megafaun

(from left) Joe Westerlund+Justin Vernon+Brad Cook+Phil Cook = DeYarmond Edison

They had musical babys together, but they broke up with Justin đŸ˜„

And the three other dudes there went off and did their own thing and became Megafaun

Megafaun

I really like their song Lazy Suicide. It goes down smooth, and easy like Southern Comfort.
All the while, Justin went through some emotional and spiritual turmoil in the snowy woods and… became Bon Iver.

Bon Iver (good winter)

Tattoo: "I said remember this as how it should be"

Or I should say formed the band Bon Iver (which is French for good winter).
Here’s the video as Justin Vernon explaining his metamorphasis towards Bon Iver.
For the beautiful musical babys of Bon Iver, Justin teamed up with some talented folk, including classical Percussionisst Sean Carey, who formed his solo career as S. Carey

S. Carey

S. Carey

This Beautiful Man here^^. This Guy. I am going to see him in Dec. here in Chicago and I AM SO PUMPED. I have loved his album All We Grow for forever. His meloncholy melodies, awesome rhythms and hypnotic piano are delicious. My fave song is In The Dirt, which I think he wrote for his sister and his music video reinforces the idea for me.

I should have blogged about him over a year ago, but it’s ok cause he’s still briliant. I’m excited to see how he grows as an artist.
S. Carey, Bon Iver, and Megafaun are all friendsies. Creativity can only breed creativity, and it inspires me that they’re all in the music industry together. :] Yup. I love how they’re all connected. Despite their differences,

they can come together on stage and make beautiful music babys.
I ❀ them all. In different ways.

Who do you love most?

<3AngiePants

Leave a comment